Articles

Best Photo Organizer?

In Photography, Software on March 28, 2008 by Daniel Schildt Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Lifehacker writes asking what would be best tool for getting your photos in order. What it would be? I have been using different ways and software to do things depending on what kind of computer I find myself using. I have photos in portable hard drive so I can edit them at different computers.

I mostly use directory structure like this:
Photos –> 2007-01-28 –> name-of-event

As for software, I find Adobe Bridge quite nice. While it lacks some things compared to more advanced photo library managers, it’s still very good tool especially when using build-in Adobe Camera RAW Converter to tune photos to better.

Some people (including one contact who is doing advertising photography) recommend Aperture over Lightroom because of much better image quality but I haven’t had opportunity to test both with same RAW image files. Should try, if I get possibility to have some time with some Mac.

Picasa looks nice but I haven’t used it much because I find easier to have directory-based photo library instead of collection-based. Maybe that is just because I have really big amount of photos. For some people, XnView could be useful tool for organizing smaller collections of photos (it even has build-in RAW converter). Anyway, I would recommend to try different tools to find what is best for each task.

Little bit more about things to do with photos.

Leave a Reply

